Statute of Limitations for Automotive Accidents
When someone suffers an injury in an accident, the injured individual is bound by the state statute of limitations. This statute establishes a time limit for when a lawsuit can be filed against a negligent party. The legal code for each state establishes what this time period is, as well as determining what special factors may lengthen this cut-off.
For a free consultation regarding your claim options as an accident victim, contact the Rhinelander car accident lawyers of Habush Habush & Rottier S.C. ®, at 800-242-2874 today.
Wisconsin’s Statute of Limitations
In addition to the standard time period to file a legal claim, a person may benefit from extensions to this initial time period. Specifically, there are some cases when an injury can lie dormant or unnoticed for a significant amount of time. Eventually, someone may discover they have sustained an injury. However, the statute of limitations may have completely or partially passed by that point. As a result, legal extensions like the discovery rule may apply. The following are the standards for Wisconsin’s statute of limitations:
- 3 years from the time of injury in cases of negligence
- 2 years from the time of injury in cases of intentional harm
- 3 years from the time of injury in cases of product defects
Depending on the cause of injury, the statute of limitations may differ. In some cases, drunk and drugged driving injuries may be connected to assault and battery charges, meaning that a related civil suit must be filed within two years.
If you or a loved one has been injured on the road, contact the Rhinelander auto accident attorneys of Habush Habush & Rottier S.C. ®, by calling 800-242-2874 today. Let us provide the legal experience and support your case deserves.